Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human hea

The author made the prediction that the life-sized sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value by the assumption that ancient Kalinese artists used molds to create statue. However, to make the prediction reliable, 3 more questions need to ask.

The first question is that are ancient Kalinese artists really use molds of actual bodies to create statues? The author got the conclusion that ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies to create statues due to the finding of molds of human heads and hands on Kali. The reason is not convictive since molds of human heads and hands on Kali can be used for other reasons as well instead of creating statues. What is more, molds of human heads and hands finding on Kali does not mean that Kali really have this kind of thing. There is possibility that these things are brought to Kali by a person and no other people in Kali other than this person have seen this kind of thing before. The author need more accurate and direction evident like a picture or document at that time to show ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies to create statues .

The Second question is that are Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style due to not using molds?There are many other reasons other than not using mold to explain the reason why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style. For instance, maybe abstract and distinctive style is just one of the the artistic methods to create statue. It is also likely that ancient Kalinese artists create can also create miniature statues using molds since there is no direct relationship between molds and abstract statue style.

The Third question is that is whether using only sculpting tools and techniques instead of molds the standard for the value of statues? Only if the standard for the value of statues is totally based on using only sculpting tools and techniques to create statues, can the finding of ancient Kalinese artists using molds of actual bodies to create statues decrease the value of the statues. However, it need to be stressed that the value is a broad concept and have many categories. When we value the statues in art, some people may think using molds instead of just sculpting tools and techniques can not really reflect the talent of the artist. But not having high art value does not mean the statue not having great historic and archaeological value. These statues can also be valuable research resource to some historians and archaeologist to study the use of molds of actual bodies in statue creating.