“Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The prediction by the collectors that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value and miniatures increase in value has no sufficient basis. Collectors predicted about the decrease in value of life-size sculptures after archaeologists recently discovered molds of human heads and after they concluded, Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies and not sculpting tools and techniques. And due to this discovery, collectors also formed idea about the increase in value of miniature statues as they were abstract and unlike to life-sized sculptures.

First, it is wise to be reluctant to believe use of human molds can actually decrease the value of life-sized sculptures. Molds were used by artists since beginning of human civilization. We still have such valuable statues in our temples, churches, mosques and stupas. Such statues might have been molded using non-human molds but again molds were used. Unlike other ordinary artists, Kalinese artists used human molds which is a unique concept in itself and this fact does not degrade the value of the statues. Even today, contemporary artists use such technique of using molds. Only the difference is, today's artists have advanced scientific tools but ancient Kalinese artists had ever-ready primitive tools.

Furthermore, collectors' prediction was based on the fact that miniature technique was abstract and different in style. One cannot simply prove anything to be better just because it is different. We do not have any statistical facts that state such different art is better. Contrary to this argument, what psychologist today believe is, humans do not accept change easily. There is no where mentioned abstract arts developed using unique technique are better in any form.

So, to decide whether the prediction and argument made by collectors are reasonable we do not have sufficient evidence to prove if use of human molds are not good as use of other molds and we do not have any facts to prove abstract art is any better than ordinary, representational, arts.