Commuters complain that increased rush hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time The favored proposal of the motorists lobby is to widen the highway adding an additional lane of traffic But last

The author claims that there has been a complaint by commuters about the rise in rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway has doubled the time. A proposal was made to widen the highway by adding an additional lane. However, last year’s addition of lane on Green Highway was an abysmal. As many residents were keen bicyclists, an alternative of adding a bicycle lane was also proposed to encourage the commuters. The author never addresses about the size and state of the highway and omits important evidence about the types of vehicles they use.

Firstly, the author assumes that adding a line for bicycle will be more useful. But he does not address that if the passengers are willing to commute by bicycles or not. Adding any kind of lane would make it difficult for the commuters as we have no confirmation of them travelling in bicycles. It would encourage them to use bicycle at some point but if they get late and are rushing, it is not a good idea to use a bicycle. Instead, they would choose a faster vehicle.

Secondly, author never addresses about the state and size of the Blue Highway. The traffic of the highway mostly depends on its condition. If the highway has bumps or any kind of obstacles it makes the vehicles move slower. Those bumps can also damage a vehicle and create traffic on the highway. It is nearly dangerous to have such obstacles for a fastmoving vehicle, so they might lower their speed at times. It also depends on the size and type of vehicle they use. Since, there is no information from the author about the types of vehicles, they might be larger than a car for few commuters.

Finally, author omits evidence about the types of vehicles as these effects the size of the highway. This problem cannot be solved until there is no clear data about the types of automobiles they use. Because a commuter can use any kind of medium smaller or bigger. If they use bigger and there are obstacles it makes those vehicles even more difficult to move quickly. An idea about the types and size of vehicles makes this assumption even more credible. Even adding an extra lane would be depended on the data of vehicles.

In conclusion, as this assumptions fail to convince the case of adding a lane for bicycle instead of motorists’ lobby will improve the traffic on the blue highway.