The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction

The argument tells us that the council of maple county are concerned about the overdeveloping of the county and for these reason they are thinking to make some restriction to develop the existing farmland. But they predict that it can increase the housing price in the maple county. However, in making such conclusion, they make several assumptions without considering some questions which need to be addressed.

The first question that need to be raised is that whether a restriction will be helpful or not to prevent the overdeveloped.

Another question that needs to be raised is about how the proponents can tell that the restriction will not increase the prise. The proponent makes their decision to see the chestnut county. But the character of two counties is different. So the experience from county cannot be apply in other county.

Again one would need to ask how the authority measures that if they make restriction of construction then it will increase the prise. The authority do not represent any survey. So before taking the decision they should a survey to get the idea about the prise rise.

In conclusion, it seems that their prediction about prise rise is not sound properly. It might have been strengthen their position if they do a proper market survey and clear all the above rise questions.