The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting

It’s stated that restrictions of new houses in Maple County might result in an increase in housing prices in the County. This assumption needs to be better analyzed for some reasons.

Firstly, the examples used might not be a good way to make these predictions. The discussion about the prices have as a paragon Counties that might not have similar farmland area or similar quantity of inhabitants that Maple County has. Since there is no pattern, it could be difficult to stablish a prediction only based in one or two examples from a universe of other Counties.

Secondly, the predictions are based in old examples and might result in a fallacious perspective. The dynamics in the county side could suffer many changes in ten or fifteen years which can create a reckless prediction about what could happen with Maple County if the propose is accepted. In this amount of time, it’s possible that houses in Pine and Chestnut might be more valuable since the area could have developed itself or the population had growth. In this sense, the reduction in new house supply would not completely justify why house prices had increased in these places.

Finally, the predictions might be fallacious if there are no big changes in the demands for houses. If Maple County has a well stablished demand with no possibilities of an increase in the amount of persons interested in buy farmland, then prices could not be changed since demand was not modified.

In conclusion, one can see that the prediction made might be inaccurate. In order to reinforce the arguments it’s interesting to better analyze if the examples are really good to be used; also, it would be interesting to look for more recent scenarios where these policies were applied; finally, one should analyze with attention the relation between supply and demand for houses in Maple County.