The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Council of Maple county is concerned with rapid development and to prevent the development of existing farmland the Council of Maple county wants to propose a restriction. The council’s prediction that proposed measure will result in significant rise in housing prices is flawed and based on vague assumptions which are discussed below.

The Council members are at juxtaposition between the examples of Chestnut county that experienced moderate rise in housing prices when they implemented similar measures ten years ago but on the other hand when Pine county adopted similar measures fifteen years ago ‘it’s housing prices more than doubled.The rise or fall in housing prices depends on a number of significant factors.

The areas with developed infrastructure and opportunities for employment are more in demand. The location of the housing area along with proximity to schools, colleges, offices, hospitals ,markets and recreational centers play a significant role while making residential decisions. Hence the prices of houses with developed infrastructure tend to soar more than the underdeveloped. The Council members have not commented about the locality, infrastructure and job opportunities available in Maple county.

The measures that were implemented in Chestnut county and Pine county was at least ten years ago. Over the period of time the economic conditions change and places become habitable due to development in infrastructure. It is likely a possibility that Chestnut County was not that favoured to be habitable while that restriction was implemented meanwhile Pine county had better infrastructure and so it's housing prices doubled.

Hence the prediction made by members of council that prices will rise significantly rise needs to be supported with help of more research and economic models keeping in mind the position and opportunities that Maple county can offer .