The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

this argument discuss the prospect of increase in housing prices of maple county by placing restriction on the new housing supply because of the concern of the county being overdeveloped. this argument is primarily based on the comparison of two other counties who have in the past years implemented the same policy; the answer of some questions about this argument could help in arriving at a decision.

Firstly, the chestnut county applied this restriction ten years ago whereas the pine county adopted it fifteen years ago, implementation of this restriction in these two counties have a difference of 5 years which can have a major impact on the increase or decrease of the housing prices. Similarly, the argument does not answer the whether the economic conditions of these two counties were stable at the time of the restriction? Or what was the population of these counties when they adopted this policy? Correspondingly, the state and economic condition of maple county is not included in the argument, if the population of maple county has increased or decreased? this could probably influence the housing prices.

Secondly, the lifestyle of the people of county is not stated in the argument which raises the question whether these people are common or prefer posh lifestyle? The area of affluent people could probably increase the housing prices as they have high demand and necessities and a competition could generate between these people. Furthermore, does maple county has more job opportunities as compare to other counties? this could attract more people and cause people to shift to maple in search of job and settlement; this eventually would increase the population along with the housing prices.

these questions could answer the probability of the increase of housing prices on the placement of limitation on new housing supply and could make the argument more strong.