The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

In the above argument the concern of the council of Maple County is described and in relation to that two examples of different county’s are given; which according to me can be irrelevant as it is not specified that they were facing the same problem as Maple County is facing, therefore argument stated above isn’t completely correct.

Firstly, it is stated in first sentence that the county is concerned of becoming overdeveloped there is no statement supporting this allegation so on what basis do they think that there will be overdevelopment in their county. So the council should keep in mind that the projections they are making that county will be overdeveloped is going to happen or not! And further investigation should be done and according to that policy should be passed.

Secondly, example of Chestnut County is given where same policy was applied ten years ago which is not a recent event so taking that county’s result under consideration would not give perfect solution as in ten years many things changes and it is possible that the population of that county hasn’t increased much which won’t bring increase in housing demands due to which price have increased modestly. Therefore, as there is no description given in the argument no result can be taken into consideration.

Thirdly, Pine County’s example is given and that to policy that they adapted 15 years ago which is also very long period in this 15 years there can be many changes or events possible which would result in significant increase in housing prices. There is possibility that some natural disaster took place due to which all houses got destroyed therefore due to sudden increase in demand of houses there is significant hike in the prices of houses.

From all the above flaws we can conclude that no proper incidents are taken into consideration, past events doesn’t give accurate explanation for anything that is going to take place in recent times. Therefore, council of Maple County should consider this and should think on the above arguments before making policy for the future event whose surety of occurring isn’t fully confirmed.