The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author appears to be enveloped in the concern for the housing market of Maple County due to the development status of the county. However, the predicitions and observations that he puts forward are vague and rife with assumptions, causing the problem that he raises to not be cogent.

The first observation that acts as both the foundation to the issue – while simultaneously causing the majority of the ambiguity – is that Maple County is “overdeveloped.” However, the author fails to provide some sort of metric to gauge this statement. Is there an up-and-coming city emerging? Is it based on population and/or jobs coming into the county? Ignoring any sort of assessment to determined the gravity of the “overdevelopment” weakens the case at hand, thus the author should give examples. Moreover, the council of the county wants to mitigate this problem by going after the development of the farmland. Does the development coincide or compete with the development of the farmland? If Maple County predominantly farmland, and is that thus somehow suppose to provide the reader with a sort of background for the economic status of Maple County? Even the extent to which the development of the farmland would be checked is left unanswered, causing the issue to be less convicining, and the solution to the problem less conceivable.

Following the concerns emdemic to Maple County, one question at hand that will help clarify Maple County’s concern with housing is what aspect of the housing price is being altered? Houses are not a ‘one time’ purchase: they have other expendatures that would be a concern for homeowners, such as tax on land, utility, and mortage. The author fails again to clarify this matter, thus making predictions for the increase muddled. Additionally, the author omits a metric for the “significant increase” in the pricing of housing. Is the housing of Maple County already high, especially for people currently living there? Again, is the fact that Maple County has farmland suppose to clarify the economic status of the inhabitants. This variable could vary widely, especially in the United States. For example, farmland in northeastern state have to deal with larger taxes than southern of mid-US states. Thus, knowing the geographic, economic, and what aspects of the payments for housing that are expected to increase will help target better solutions for the issue.

This issue with a lack of a metric continues to the other counties. The author mentions the “modest” success of Chestnut County and the “doubled” pricing of Pine, but fails to acknowledge why this matters. Are these counties even in the same state as Maple County? Do they also have areas of farmland equal to that of Maple? Chestnut County apparently used similar measures to maintain their housing market problem. Does this county perhaps have more or less farmland that was stemmed? Knowing this information will focalize the solution to Maple County’s economic state.

Finally, the author ends the report with a prediction that Maple County will ultimately have significantly increased housing costs. An underlying question to this prediction derives from who is conceiving the prediction? The ambigious council mentioned does not clarify what third party members are working in forecasting this pricing. If, for example, the council utilized experts in the real-estate market of the surrounding counties, along with members involved in economic affairs, then maybe this prediction could be viable. However, since the author’s case is inundated with uncleat information regarding the ecnomic and geographic status of the counties, the prediction is thus unreasonable. The author’s concern is undoubtly understandable, but answers to the proposed questions will hopefully allow for a more clear, targeted solution to this problem of “overdevelopment.”