The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the written prompt, Marlee students are doing better in the final examination than the Sanlee students because of fewer assignments. The writer recommends to assign fewer homework to other schools to obtain better grades, less makeovers and extended time to study. Although the recommendation seems appealing at a first glance, it is riffed with many logical fallacies that need to be validated with suitable evidences. Without proper evidence, the conclusion of the author remains unwarranted and can't be accepted.

First, each school needs to compare the curriculum and contents of their courses and then reach to their decision. That's say, we need to have the evidence that the curriculum of Manley school is followed by other schools as well. It may be possible that Marlee school is a business school it does not offer math or science courses. Since math or science courses are complicated, Sanlee school assigned frequent home tasks to make the students competent for the final exam which is not required for Sanlee students. Perhaps, previously Sanlee students offered less assignments for math and science courses and that's why students did not get good grades in those courses. If any of these above points becomes true, the argument as a whole will not hold any water. Therefore, the author need to provide evidence about the similarity of the contents of other schools to justify their decisions.

Secondly, we need clear evidence about the assessment strategy and quality of the students of both schools. It may be possible that despite the good number of grades or fewer F grades, Sanlee students are way much better than the Manlee schools. It may be obtained from the academic records that significant percentage of Sanlee schools are being accepted in well reputed colleges compared to Manlee colleges. Perhaps the teachers of the Marlee school are lenient to the students. It is also possible that talented students prefer Sanlee than Manlee because of the competitive and rigorous course structure. If any of the aforementioned circumstances comes to light, the recommendation of the author will be seriously weakened. Hence, the author needs to cite the evidence regarding the assessment and quality of students from both school.

Last but not the least, it needs proof that Marlee students are utilizing their left over times for productive lessons. There may be some alternative explanations as well. Perhaps, the students of Manlee students use their free times to gossip or play games. It is also possible that Manlee students actually study less because of less assignments and more flexibility. In contrast, it may be possible that Sanlee students cover all the relevant topics with the help of the assignments and they don't need separate time to study again. If any of the preceding issues is true, the conclusion of the writer becomes invalid. Thus, the writer should provide specific evidence perhaps in the form of survey responses to justify that lesser amount of assignments actually help the Manlee students to concentrate more on studies.

To summarize, the author must provide evidences to these three key points that are discussed in this writing. Otherwise, it will be a logical fallacy to vie with the opinion follow the claim of the writer.