Davidson County is primed for a resurgence as the culinary capital of our state. This year alone, 20 new restaurants have opened in Davidson County and the county college system has announced an expansion to its culinary arts program. Moreover, the chamber of commerce for neighboring Roth County has said that nearly one-third of that county's restaurants have gone out of business in the last year, so its residents will have to eat somewhere. Why not Davidson County, culinary capital?

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument states that the residents of neighbouring Roth county will eat in the restaurants of the Davidson County which is primed as the culinary capital of the state

increasing the business of the restaurants in the county .Stated in this way , the argument fails to take into account a few key factors which can call the conclusion

into question. It rests on some assumptions for which there is no clear evidence .As a result ,the argument is unconvincing and falls apart at the seams.

Firstly , the argument is unconvincing because it does not provide any information regarding the number of restaurants in Davidson which shut their shops in the past year.

It only states that 20 new restaurants have opened in the past year but it does not provide any substantial proof regarding the resurgence of the county as the

culinary capital of the state .For example, 20 new restaurants have come up and 40 restaurants have gone out of business ,then it is a negative indicator for the

current title of the county

Secondly , The argument also states that there is an expansion of the culinary arts program in the colleges of Davidson county . There is no information to back that

it is because of the county restoration of its Culinary capital title and only on the basis of temporal precedence , such claims cannot be drawn .The expansion of the

culinary program could be due to high paying jobs in the market or any reason which is not discussed in the passage

Thirdly ,The closure of restaurants in neighbouring Roth county can not guarantee that the residents of Roth county will be visiting the restaurants of the Davidson county

,giving their business a boost.it may be possible that Residents of Roth county prefer home-made food and as a result ,due to less demand ,many of the restaurants

in Roth went out of Business. Even if they liked to eat in restaurants , there is no evidence to claim that they will be visiting Davidson County .It will depend

on numerous factors like distance between the counties , price of the dishes ,ambience of the restaurants and many more.

Basis the information provided ,we cannot derive the conclusion that due to closure of restaurants in Roth county,people will dine in restaurants of Davidson county.