Evidence suggests that academic honor codes which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated are far more successful than are other methods at deterring che

The argument above suggests that academic honor code in which students agree not to cheat and report cases instead of teachers controlling students in exam is far more effective. Accordingly, Groveton college implemented this technique and the cases of cheating reduced over a course of five years. Besides, the majority of students from the college believe that this technique is effective. However there are a number of flaws in this

argument if we make a closer examination.

The first flaw in the argument is that it did not present the evidence for the effectiveness of the academic honor code

in detail. It should have given enough detail about where the research has been conducted, in what amount and diversifying places and section

this research is undergone before claiming it to be effective is necessary. For instance, if the research was limited in exams where

exams are essay types and not much choice types, the technique could be effective as tendency of students making copy is low as

it is easy for teachers can notice similarity in answers easily and students can also monitor this activity. But if it is multiple choice

exam area or subject it may be even difficult for students to detect it and they can copy answers as well easily. So this research may not

be effective as is claimed in the argument.

The other error in the above argument is that the reduction in the number of cheat does not necessarily indicate the decrease in the cheating level

in exams. Perhaps, the students reported only certain number of cases and may have chose to keep others silent. It may even be also that some sections do not report cheats while others report. This may have lead for the reported number to decrease evenif the cases of cheating are high. Without ruling such scenarios, the claim of the arguer is doubtable.

Another additional flaw in the argument is about the recent survey report that students in the college still believe that this method is effective

in deterring cheating in exam. There is no evidence presented in the argument about this current survey as to who conducted it, what method it used and what type of student reported the method to be effective. Perhaps the study is conducted by students who benefit from the report by continuing

this method. Additionally, those who responded to the survey are students who are comfortable with this system because it is easy to cheat for them.

So without ruling out the above doubtable points, the argument claim to continue the new method is improper.

In general, the argument claim that student honor code is effective in controlling students better than the old system where teachers control students

in exam is unwarranted. There are a number of flawed assumptions and points that need to be cleared. The methods initial effectiveness should have been present where and how it was conducted before claiming it to be successful. Also the reduction in number of reported cases does not necessarily indicate the reduction in cheating and the validity of the survey is also in question to continue the new method. The author should have showed that the survey was conducted by independent body and is inclusive of all types of students and that need to rule out that those cases reported and the number of cheats really are same. Without, that claiming this technique to be effective is wrong.