Five years ago, the local university built tow new dormitories through different contractors: Aleph Construction and Gimmel Builders. The buildings were nearly identical, though it cost Gimmel Builders approximately 20% more to construct its dormitory. Aleph's dormitory, however has required approximately 10% more in maintenance costs per year over the last five years. Therefore to construct another new dormitory with lowers cost, the local university should hire Aleph construction.

Write a response in which you examine the stated/ unstated assumptions in the expert's claim. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the editorial from local newspaper, local community has proposed to construct another new dormitory with help of Aleph Constructions in order to save the money. They have come to this conclusion with their past experience, where Gimmel Builders took more money to construct the same building which Aleph Construction did in the small amount. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, author needs to answer these questions.

First of all, are the other factors such as land, zoning cost taken into consideration? Is Aleph Construction providing these factors at a lesser price? It is possible that Aleph Construction is charging more for land acquisition as compared to Gimmel builders. Maybe the transportation cost of Gimmel builders is considerably less. In such case, the overall cost will reduce drastically. If the above scenario holds merit, the original argument is undermined.

Secondly, is the quality of work comparable? Is the increase in 10% maintenance a good sign? Maybe the increase in maintenance every year a direct sign of bad construction. It is possible that the Gimmel builders provide better quality at the start, so their maintenance cost is significantly less. So, the residents have to pay less every year in such case. This will save a significant amount of money every year. If this holds true, original argument no longer holds water.

Thirdly, has the community approached other builders? Are all the builders charging more than Aleph Construction? It is possible that there are other local builders who are ready to construct the dormitory at lower price. Maybe “xyz” construction company is charging significantly less as compared to Aleph Construction, but they are not approached. In such case, it will be better for the local community to hunt for more builders rather than just relying on the past experience.

In conclusion, as the argument stands now, is completely flawed due to it’s reliance on unwanted assumptions. There are many unexplored variables which still require more attention. If the author provides answer to the above questions with proper evidence then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposal to handover the new dormitory project to the Aleph Construction.