The following appeared in an announcement issued by the publisher of The Mercury, a weekly newspaper:

"Since a competing lower-priced newspaper, The Bugle, was started five years ago, The Mercury's circulation has declined by 10,000 readers. The best way to get more people to read The Mercury is to reduce its price below that of The Bugle, at least until circulation increases to former levels. The increased circulation of The Mercury will attract more businesses to buy advertising space in the paper."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The announcement from The Mercury newspaper concludes that The Mercury should decrease its price lower than that of its competitor – The Bugle, in order to gain more circulations. The line of reasoning is that The mercury’s circulation has started to decrease since The bugle started its business. Moreover, it also assumes that increased circulation will bring more advertising businesses to Mercury. However, I find that this argument is not convincing, as it is flawed for following reasons.

First of all, the author readily assumes that the competition from the Bugle newspaper has been the main reason causing Mercury’s circulation to decrease over the last five years. However, the competition from other competitors should be also taken into consideration. It could be possible that the Bugle is not the only newspaper company competing with the Mercury. Therefore, it would be imprudent for Mercury to adjust its price without considering the overall competition on the market.

Furthermore, the argument predicts that the Mercury will gain more businesses from advertising if the circulation gets to increase. This assumption is not sound, however, because it takes for granted that the customers only care about circulation when considering where to put their advertisement. The companies which invest money on the advertisement always expect their money to be spent on the right channel, so the precise targeting of the readers is very important to them. There’s no guarantee that the Mercury will attract more advertising business if their readers are not the main target of those companies which will buy advertisement on newspaper.

Finally, the author made the assumption solely based on the external cause and overlooked the possibility of inner problem of Mercury. It might be true that there are some serious problems inside the organization which caused it circulation decreasing, such as bad quality of writers and inefficient management team. Consequently, the author would have to prove that the Mercury’s failure is solely because of the competition from the Bugle, rather than its inner problem.

In summary, this argument is not reasonable as it omits a lot of factors that should be addressed. In order to make proper conclusion, the author would have to consider other competition on the market, the real interest from the advertising customers and the inner problem of the Mercury.