The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp certainly provides strong allegations against Dr. Field’s methods and results, yet leaves much to be desired in regards to his own findings. He is decidedly against Dr. Field in almost every facet, but how much evidence does he actually provide to support his own contrary claims? How much more evidence do we need to be able to agree or disagree with Dr. Karp?

When Dr. Karp mentions his “recent interviews”, he does not specify how many children from Tertia he actually interviewed, or if he interviewed any at all. He simply declares that he spoke with children “living in the group of islands that includes Tertia”. If none of the children, however many there were, were from Tertia, then this argument is invalid, and does not pertain to Dr. Field’s research. However, if most of the children were from Tertia, and these children were many, then there may be validity to his assertions.

Dr. Karp claims that the children he interviewed spent “much more time” talking about their parents than other villagers. This, clearly, is not an exact enough timeframe to draw a conclusion from: “Much more time” could range from a few minutes more to an hour more, which provide vastly different strengths of evidence. In addition to this, were the questions asked to the children given to attempt to extract answers about their parents? The number of leading questions of this kind would surely make a difference on the amount of time spent talking about the children’s parents.

Additionally, if the children spent more time talking about their parents, does this negate the village culture? Are being raised by one’s biological parents and one’s village mutually exclusive? Though this may be the case, it is worth clearly stating this to avoid the confusion created by this underlying assumption. If these are mutually exclusive, and time spent talking about each is a valid measure of which actually raised the child, then this would be sound evidence for Dr. Karp’s conclusion.

Finally, Dr. Karp attacks the observation-centered approach as a whole based on his self-appointed defeat of Dr. Field’s research. However, there is no evidence in the article that stated a reason for the invalidity of studying cultures using the observation-centered approach, other than Dr. Karp’s own research. This is quite insufficient, as there may be many examples of where the observation-centered approach was quite helpful in explaining cultural phenomena. This overall conclusion would need much more evidence from a broad array of cultural studies to definitively reject observation as a central method.

Evidently, this article excerpt is lacking many important points of evidence, reducing its overall effectiveness and persuasiveness. However, once this evidence is included, not only could it show more clearly the weaknesses in Dr. Karp’s argument, but it may actually bolster his position, and give him a much stronger ground to rest his conclusion upon.