The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karps argument is blatantly presumptuous when he arrives at a conclusion not just disregarding Dr Fields research that states that children in the villiage of Tertia are brought up by the entire villiage as inconsequential but also with claims that the interview centric approach he follows is superior to the observation centric approach followed by Dr.Field.

The argument arrives at the conclusion that Dr. Fields resarch is erraneous by frivolously stating the reason as children talking about their parents more than the other people in the villiage means that the others in the villiage do not bring them up. This is erraneous as it is very well possible that the questions asked to these kids were primarily pertaining to their parents, for which the answer will obviously be favouring the argument made. Additionally, even if the questions asked to the kids were relevant and unbiased, it still does not give credibilty to the argument as it is possible that the children are just closer to their parents compared to the rest of the villiage, which this does not mean that the villiage does not bring the child up. It simply means that the children are more affectionate towards their parents.

Another conclusion that the presented argument arrives at is that an interview centric approach superceeds an observation centric approach. This claim is not just an attempt to undermine Dr Fields work, but it also undermines the work of any other individual that has arrived at results using an observation based approach. In this case, since it is mentioned that Tertial is a small/remote island, it is likely that the people in Tertia are not well versed with the dynamics of family that our world is accustomed to. Additionally, it is also possible that the questions asked to the people in Tertia were lost/misconstrued in translation. Thus, it is evident that the interview centric approach employed may not be the best option for this scenario. On the other hand the observation based approach is based on the principle that Actions speak Louder than words. It is nearly impossible to misinterpret the actions of affection displayed by a villiage in bringing up the young ones in that villiage.

The argument also fails to specify the sample space of each of the research. It is possible that Dr. Fields made his conclusion based on observations made over a period of time with a larger sample space, whereas Dr Karp has arrived at his conclusion on the basis of interviews that were carried out over a much smaller sample space. As a result, the credibility of the argument is heavily questioned without these little certainities.

However, it must be mentioned that if the sample space was unbiased, the interview contained of relevant questions and if the answers of the children in these interviews directly suggests that they are talking more about their parents just because it is soley them that are bringing th children up, then the argument is worthy of being taken seriously and casts a shadow of doubt over Dr. Fields claims.

But this still wont account for Dr Karps claims that interview based approach is better than the observation centric approach as such a claim will require a wide range of examples.

Thus, it can safely be concluded that due to the presumptuous and frivolous reasons cited that has led to Dr. Karp arriving at his conclusion, the argument just falls short of being baseless, but it does have the potential of being a cogent one with a bit more research and valid citations.