The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about

Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Dr. Field claims that the results of Dr. Karp study are incorrect as her own experience with the children of Tertia provides different conclusions about the social construction of child rearing and thus invalidates Dr. Field study. There are problematic ideas that result in a specious analysis by Dr. Field.

To begin, in Dr. Field’s interviews with children, they more frequently talked about their own parents than of older adults. She concludes that, contrary to Dr. Karp’s conclusion that the childen of Tertia were reared by the entire village rather their by their own biological parents, that the children are actually raised primarily by their parents. The assumption that Dr. Field makes is that since the children talk more about their parents than other adults, they are primarily raised by their parents. She also makes the assumption that the children would be most cognitive of their rearing more so than their own parents and village adults. This is faulty reasoning based on an assumption that whoever the children talk about the most is the most involved adult in their rearing. Her conclusion is thus flawed.

Details of Dr. Field’s interviews with children are unclear. The questions on the interview could have emphasized the child’s biological parents or been skewed in the direction of biological parentage instead of a more holistic approach. There may not have been direct questions about the village adults and only questions about their relationship with those who raised them, which one would assume would be based on relationships with biological parents, but both this assumption and Dr. Field’s study are not convincing or precise enough to validate Dr. Field’s conclusion.

Further, Dr. Field discounts the observation-centered approach used by Dr. Karp simply due to the contrary results of her study. She does not make room for the possibility that these two approaches may allow for different results, and therefore claims that Dr. Karp’s study is invalid solely because the results of her study opposed Dr. Karp’s conclusions. These is not a logical assumption to make and cannot provide definitive evidence that the observation-centered approach is invalid, so Dr. Field’s claim is fallacious.

The length of the study and quantity of collected data may also provide different results. Perhaps Dr. Field conducted a week-long study and Dr. Karp’s study was done over a series of months or even years. It is not specified who had more data nor the duration of the study. Quantity and quality of evidence is important to make a conclusive claim and can be a factor in the validity of both Dr. Karp and Dr. Field’s results.

Equally important to the results of any study is the breadth of information. Dr. Field’s claims do not include enough supporting evidence to validify the conclusion that Dr. Karp’s study is invalid due to its use of an observation-centered method. Her team of graduate students are also using the interview-centered method that Dr. Field used. This information will be important to further investigate the child rearing methods of Tertia, but its interview-centered method may be a limiting force.