The following appeared in an e mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville Over the past ten years there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productio

The author of the argument concludes that the best option to increase their audience size is by starting a "Shakespeare in the park" program. However, that conclusion is based on a number of poorly supported assumptions. Without further information, we do not have adequate evidence to determine whether the author's conclusion is valid.

To begin the argument, the author assumes that a campaign that took place two years ago and appeared to be successful can also show the same type of success today. However, the evidence relies on the fact that the interests of their customer demographic have not changed in the past two years, and that the same campaign would still engage their prospective customers. On the other hand, other aspects should be taken into consideration when launching a campaign. For example, trendiness plays a big part in today's marketing world. If the author provided that such campaigns are still trendy and popular amongst people in the area, the argument would have been more convincing.

Another weakness in the argument is that the "free plays in the park" program was launched by a completely different company with a different audience, the author is relying on the unsupported assumption that a similar program would be successful for another company. However, the differences in the audiences they attract such as age, race, gender, etc. would hurt the author's claim. Without more information on how similar both their audience and customer demographic is, we are not able to fully evaluate how it supports the conclusion.

Ultimately, unless the assumptions are addressed, the author's argument that the "Shakespeare in park" program can increase its profits fails to be convincing.