The following appeared in the editorial section of a local newspaper:

WHEN the worst drought in 60 years hit America’s corn belt this summer, many people wondered if it was caused by climate change. It is too early to say much about such a recent episode but various studies have attributed earlier individual heatwaves or drought to global warming.

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The author of the local newspaper attempts to draw a relation between the occurance of this year’s drought, considered the worst ever in 60 years, that hit America’s corn belt in summer and the drastic changes taking place in the earth’s climate. He bases his argument on previous studies which had attributed such droughts to the widespread problem of Global Warming. This however, is a flawed argument based on many incomplete assumptions. Through this essay, the various flawed assumptions are highlighted and how these have a huge impact on the conclusion drawn by the author.

The primary, and the most flawed assumption that the author rests his argument on is by referring to the various earlier studies which have cited global warming as the main cause for the occurance of these natural disasters. This is fundamentally wrong as there is no strong statistical evidence provided by the author to support his claim. He also does not state any details about where the studies were held, who participated in this study and how many people contributed to it. The argument would have been more compelling if strong supporting evidence was provided about the studies such as the sample space, the size of the participating group, the year when it was conducted etc.

Another major flaw is in the author’s approach of drawing a comparison between two scenarios which are probably spaced many years apart on the timeline. This highlights the mistake that the author commits by comparing the earth’s present day condition to the condition that was prevalent many years ago when the respective studies were carried out. The earth has a dynamically changing environment and its situation changes from year to year, or even from day to day.

Lastly, besides climatic changes, changes in the country’s economy or the government’s policy can also have long reaching consequences resulting in such disasters. For example, it could be possible that the country’s government would have built a weak dam for holding the river water, which ultimately collapsed, thus inundating the surrounding villages.

In a nutshell, the argument presented by the author is based on incomplete and flawed assumptions. These assumptions should be further reviewed in depth by taking a holistic approach into the nature of the cited studies, other non-climatic factors at that point of time, the changing landscape of the earth’s natural climate over the years etc. before arriving on any concrete conclusion.