The following appeared in a health magazine."The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they

The author claims that the citizens of Forsythe now have a healthier lifestyle. The argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. To justify this conclusion, the author reasons that a survey shows that people eating habit are more close to the government nutritional recommendation and there is an increase in sales of the products containing healthy nutrition. However, scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion. Hence, the argument is incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First, the argument readily assumes that eating habits are the only factor for having healthful lifestyle this is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For Example, we know that being healthy without doing regular exercise is impossible and the physical factors are not the only thing to be considered, having less stress, less anxiety, more entertainment etc. also play significant roles in being healthy. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly states other surveys about physical activities and mental relaxations.

The author also points out that the sales of products containing Kiran, which reduces cholesterol, has increased. This again is a weak and unsupported claim, as it does not demonstrate why it is increased. To illustrate further, the increase in sales of a food product can be a result of an increase in the population. If the argument had provided that, the use of products containing Kiran has increased in the meals of the people then it would be more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author cites that the sales of a food, which few of the healthiest citizens eat, has decreased. However, the survey of the evidence reveals that it provides little support for author’s opinion in several critical respects, and raises skeptical questions. For example, the reduction in the sale can be a result of having bad sales strategy or increasing price, how the author shows that it means people does not buy this food because they eat healthily? Without answering these questions, the author leaves the reader with the impression that the claims made by the author are not substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of reliable and a detailed analysis of the people health examination results. Ultimately, better evaluation of the argument needs to have more information about the people eating and physical habits.