The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author has bolstered the idea of lowering the number of moped and pedestrian accident on Balmer Island with several unsubstantiated arguments. These arguments need further clarification.

Firstly, it is unclear how the increase of population on Balmer Island during the summer months associate with moped and pedestrian accidents. The assumption is that increased population on the island leads to more moped users and pedestrians on the streets, thus causing more accidents. The author should further clarify the argument by providing information, such as the percentage of increase of moped users and pedestrians during the summer months and compared them with other months of the year to detect any significant differences. With these details, association between increased population and the number of moped users and pedestrians on the island, and their relationship with accident cases could be highlighted clearly.

Secondly, it is also unclear whether the reduction of moped rental by 25 per day for each company would, in fact, lower the number of accident. Yet again the author should provide any relating evidence and determine whether the increased accident cases are correlated with increased moped users. If so, the author should examine whether what locations, strength of current safety measures for moped in place, and age groups of moped users that accident frequently occurred. These information will help author to further determine the appropriate measures to be taken to tackle the issue, instead of limiting the number of moped that each rental company can rent. Also, impact of cutting half of the moped rental could on the number of accident involving mopeds should also be assessed.

Thirdly, using Seaville’s achievement in reducing the proportion of accident as an comparison or target to be achieved is unjustifiable. The author argued that by limiting the number of moped rental, the number of accident can be reduced by 50% as Seaville did last year. The author failed to provide any comparable parameters from Seaville’s, such as the types of accidents that Seaville successfully reduced: car, bicycle, or motorcycle etc., type of environment or seasons of the year where accidents occurred frequently. It is likely that Seaville has a very small population size which remains unchanged throughout the year, and without sudden influx of foreigners in any seasons or months, hence, safety measures or education are more easily to be rolled out more effectively compared to Balmer Island.

In sum, the author should clarify the relationship between increased population during summer months and changes in accident pertaining to pedestrian and moped, examine other factors may could be source of accident, and provide and assess comparable parameters from Seaville’s and tailor their strategies according to those findings to bring down the number of accidents.