The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

First of all, when we compare two different places, they differ in a lot of ways. Even if they are neighbors to each other they may have totally different cultures, languages, arts, and people. A system which has been successfully tested in one city may not work with another city due to the differences I stated earlier. We have to consider many unseen facts and ideas to really understand the statement and I have tried to sum up all that I can in the below passages.

Balmer Island may be a popular tourist destination during summer when many people want to spend holidays on a beach island. So they come here, rent a hotel and a moped and move on their own to travel spots. But it is not necessary that the moped accidents are only caused by people who rent mopeds. They may actually be caused by the local people of Balmer Island itself. So even if we reduce the moped rent number form 50 to 30, accidents are still gonna occur at the same rate.

In Torseau Islands, the roads may not be that good to drive mopeds, but people still drive it and thus meet with accidents. And when we talk about the action taken by their council on moped rentals, we must not forget that they may improve road conditions and that may be the reason there was 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. So the same system may not work in Balmer Islands. They should probably try fixing their roads first and let tourists enjoy the moped rides. And anyway they are talking about the law being implemented in Torseau last year, things may have changed this current year, the plan may have failed by now and the accidents may be on rising now.

Moreover, moped accidents are caused by people themselves by not following traffic rules like speed limit and wearing helmets. Even if the rental companies reduced to amount to 30 mopeds per day, but what if very rash drivers rent these mopeds and accidents still continue to rise, so it totally depends on the type of people who are riding bikes and not the actual number.

The Balmer Island may be a tourist destination and Torseau may not be a tourist destination. So no rise in population during summer and so reduced number of accidents in Torseau. But on the other hand, Balmer is full of tourists who don't know the type of roads there and thus may end up in an accident more easily than the local people of Torseau.

To conclude, it's not really necessary that the same law will work in Balmer Islands even if they worked in Torseau because of all the reasons I specified above. They may work in a town with similar configurations as Torseau but nothing has been discussed about the compatibility of the two places with each other. We can simply refute the assumption based on the fact that not enough details are provided for the plan to be actually successful.