The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Many tourists visit Balmer island during the summer months for their vacations and enjoyment. They hire mopeds from the rental companies and the increase in the moped rental system has resulted in increase in road accidents. Its obvious to decrease the incidents of road accident with less number of mopeds in the road.

The limitation of renting mopeds might have increase the rents of the mopeds. This might have resulted in less number of moped being rented in Torseau. For instance, the normal tourists visit any area with certain budget and they don't want to spend more than this amount and thus will decide not to rent the mopeds. With very less number of vehicles on the road will ultimately result in decrease of number of road accidents.

May be the decrease in road accidents in Torseau was not only due to the limitation of renting mopeds. This could be due to the upliftment of the road condition as well. For instance, the road accidents in a gravel road is more than the road accidents in a black topped plain road. The road condition of Balmer island is even worse than Torseau so even limiting the number of mopeds cannot reduce the road accidents.

The decrease in the road accidents may also be due to the awareness programmes launched regarding road accidents and traffic rules. For example, the road accidents are lesser when the drivers are more educated about the traffic rules. The resident of Balmer island might be uneducated about the traffic rules and thus decrease in the road accident will not be possible without the awareness of the pedestrians and drivers of Torseau islands.

The road accidents could be due to other vehicles in the road like buses, cars etc. So, even the reduction of number of mopeds cannot reduce the accidents caused due to other vehicles. Also, the road accidents could be due to mopeds of the permanent resident of Balmer Island and thus only reduction in renting will not decrease the road accident.

What is more strange about the given fact is that we are not sure about the datas recorded and published which won't surely confirm the reduction of the accidents in true sense. For example, the number of accidents might be less due to wrong recording of data which might not be true for Balmer island.

In conclusion, argument given does not completely confirms the true reason of accidents and cannot be accepted without the complete analysis of the reasons of road accidents.