The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago During this same time period

The letter to the editor of a Batavian newspaper concludes that the retail milk prices must be regulated to make sure the prices are low and there is ample supply of milk to the customers. The author reasons that the price of milk has doubled along with the increment in the dairy farms over the period of ten years, and the farmers are gaining excessive profits. The author’s assumption of preventing farmers from receiving excessive profit via regulation, however, is questionable to me.

Firstly, the increase of 25 percent in dairy farm throughout the country does not necessarily mean that there is increase Batavia too. Instead, the production could have been stagnant or even less in Batavia. Furthermore, is the data of present and 10 years ago comparable? In the span of a decade, various technological, socio economic and other changes might have been encountered which could make the comparison meaningless. The increase by 25 % in 10 Years period is rather less increment.

Secondly, the price data of Excello Food Market is taken to support the argument of price surge. Although the price seems to double ($1.50 to $3.00 per gallon) in this market, it is not certain that the price of milk in the entire nation has doubled. It is possible that the prices in other market might be constant or less than $1.50. Perhaps, the demand for milk might have increased in Batavia which caused the price of milk to rise compared to other markets. Population in Batavia could have increased and as a result, the demand could have increased accordingly.

In addition, the author assumes that the farmers are earning excess profit. If the inflation and time period is to be considered, the farmers are not gaining much profit at all. Had the demand had increased, they would have actually been facing problem to meet the increasing the demand. Moreover, if the regulation is to be implemented in retail price of milk and the price is to be lowered, the farmers will be the ones to suffer actually. Rather the farmers would be discouraged if they have to sell at the lower price with the constant production level as this will drastically lower their profit margin.

In a nutshell, the argument is considerably flawed to me due to unwarranted assumptions. If the author had analyzed the above discussed issues, the argument would have been more convincing. Hence, the decision of price regulation should not be solely based in this letter.