The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

he argument presented in the letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner suggests that the popularity of skateboarding has led to a decrease in shoppers and an increase in litter and vandalism in the area. The store owner recommends that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza in order to return business to its previously high levels. However, in order to decide whether this recommendation is likely to have the predicted result, several questions need to be answered.

First, it is important to determine whether the decrease in shoppers is indeed caused by the increase in skateboard users in the plaza. While the store owner believes that this is the case, other factors such as the overall economic climate, the presence of other shopping centers, and the availability of online shopping options may also play a role. Additionally, it is important to examine whether the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has decreased relative to other shopping areas in the city. Without this information, it is impossible to conclude that the decrease in shoppers is specifically due to the presence of skateboarders.

Second, it is important to determine whether there is a correlation between the increase in skateboarding and the increase in litter and vandalism in the area. While it may seem logical to assume that the two are related, it is possible that other factors such as a lack of enforcement of litter and vandalism laws, or an increase in the number of homeless or other groups that may be more likely to engage in such activities, could be contributing to the problem. Without this information, it is impossible to conclude that the increase in litter and vandalism is specifically due to the presence of skateboarders.

Finally, it is important to consider the potential consequences of prohibiting Skateboarding in Central Plaza. While it may lead to an increase in shoppers, it could also lead to a decrease in foot traffic, as Skateboarders may no longer be inclined to come to the area. Additionally, it could lead to a decrease in the city's attractiveness to young people, who may view the prohibition as a sign that the city is not welcoming to them.

In conclusion, in order to decide whether the recommendation to prohibit Skateboarding in Central Plaza is likely to have the predicted result, it is important to determine whether the decrease in shoppers is specifically due to the presence of Skateboarders, whether there is a correlation between the increase in Skateboarding and the increase in litter and vandalism, and what the potential consequences of the prohibition might be. Answering these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation and determine whether it is truly the best solution for the Central Plaza community.