The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may be true that the business in the Central Plaza might have been affected due

to the increase in skateboarding, one cannot completely blame them for the same. The buisness

depends on a lot of factors and a variety of situations. The main reason for low buisness might

be due to bad customer service, bad products, unhygenic conditions and low maintainece. Solely

blaming skateboarding might not be completely correct.

The author does not make a cogent case based on their points. Citing the view of other buisness

owners, it cannot be completely trusted as they all might lack something collectively and just

shift the blame onto skatebaording. The author needs to present valuable reason and logic to

prove that the buisness is actually affected mainly due to just skateboarding. For example,

the buisness owners might tell exactly why skateboarding is affecting them, based on concrete

points, and with the help of customers view, instead of just the views of other buisness owners

in the vicinity.The owners might themselves be affected in other ways due to the skateboarding

like being distrubed from the sound and nuisance, stuff getting damaged, etc. This might ick the

owners and therefore request to prohibit skateboarding, blaming them for the sales.

Additionally, the author implies that there has been increase in the vandalism and litter in

the area, not directly blaming the skateboarders for this, but implying the fault of the same.

This cannot be validated and relied upon as this might be the fault of the buisness owners

themselves, not taking proper care of the maintainence of the area as well as vandalising it on

their own to strengthen their claim. They should confirm with propers eye witnesses as well as

show complains from the customers regarding the same to verify their claims. They should also

be more vigilant and alert regarding such practices, improving upon them by implementing proper

grabage and litter disposal techniques and maintaining the appropriate hygiene for the

customers to visit with content and satisfaction.

Building upon the implication that their sales are affected just because of the skateboarders

and not considering other factors, the author creates a vague impression of their stance, as

they cannot completely blame just one factor at large and ignore the others. Prohibiting an

activity like skateboarding might improve the sales in the Central Plaza by some margin but it

won't actually ameliroate until they tackle it headstrong. They need to make proper reforms in

the area, giving more importance to the maintainence as well as the beautification of the

surrounding area so that customers are attracted to it. They also need to keep in mind and work

upon to amend their previous mistakes by improving their customer service along with giving

better prices and deals so that they actually have an increased intake of potential customers.

A no nuisance area without the sheninigans of the skateboarders might improve the footfall of

the Central Plaza by a little, but it won't turn out be a great win for the buisness owners

until they actually work upon the basic amenities that they should improve, which might

actually help them win by a landslide. For these reasons, this author's arguement is not likely

to significantly persuade the respected authorities to expunge skateboarding at the Central Plaza.