The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author states that the popularity of skateboard had increased drastically. However, the author didn't explicitly mention the trend in usage of the skateboards in Central Plaza. We need to know how has the number of skateboard users been in Central Plaza. Has it been decreasing? Has it been increasing or has it remained the same? Has there been a drastic change? Without answers to these questions, we cannot for sure make a correlation between the sales in the Plaza and the number of skateboard users.

The store owner also mentions about the trend of sales over an exteded period i.e; two years. This time period is a considerable amount of time during which there could be other shopping complexes opening up in the vicinty of the Plaza which could have decreased the sales in the Plaza. So the question we should ask is: How has the development in the vicinty of the Plaza been? The store owner gives no information about the commercial activity in the vicinity of the Plaza which makes us skeptical about the recommendation given by the store owner.

We should also need answer to the question: How has the overall trend been in the purchasing power of the consumers? It is plausible that the sales in the Plaza have been decreasing because the region is under recession. If this is the case then, prohibiting skateboarding in the Plaze will not cause the effect that the store owner stated.

By mentioning in the context that the litter and vandalism had increased in the Plaze, the store owner suggests that this is due skateboard users in the Plaza. One question we need to answer here is that are the skateboard users responsible for litter and vandalism? If they are the culprits, then prohibiting skateboarding may decrease litter and vandalism eventually encourage people to shop in Central Plaza.

As we can see, the anwers to the above questions will help us evaluate if prohibiting skateboarding in Central Plaze will actually help increase the sales in the Plaza. It would be premature with the given information to come to a hasty conclusion that expelling skateboarding in the Plaza will improve sales.