The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is an old saying in the Indian culture that translates to - "A country is not made up of earth but by it's people". It is not the glory of highest mountains or vast serene grasslands that make up a country but it is the lives of the people that define the greatness of a country. The prompt suggests that greatness of a nation is attributed to the general well being of its people rather than the acheivements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. I agree with the prompt for the following reasons.

Firstly, I would like to put forward my argument by asking a question; In general, what percentage of the population of a nation does rulers, artists and scientists constitutes? In most cases, the answer would be closer to 1 percent? And in the case of developing countries and under-developed countries where most of the world's population reside, the answer to the question would be close to zero percent. In such highly imbalanced scenarios, is it wise to determine the greatness of a nation only by the acheivements of its rulers, artists and scientists? The answer is definitely no. The reason is plain and simple: the rulers, artists and scientists represents an infinitismally small portion of the population of a nation and it is fatuous to extrapolate the well being of the nation just by the way the elite group of citizens like artists, rulers and scientists are fairing in their lives. It could very well be the case that though this aristotle class of people are doing very well professionally, the rest of the nation would be leading an ardous life doing menial labour. Since the rulers, artists and scientists are not a representative sample of the nation, it would be asinine of us to apprise the greatness of a nation only by their achievements.

I would like to continue upon the point articulated in the previous paragraph i.e; even though the rulers, artists and scientists achieve great success, there is every possibility that the nation's common people lives could be down-tordden. The case of North Korea is a paradigm of such scenario. The country's rulers and scientists are making successfull strides in their nuclear program. Every successful nuclear test is followed by widespread publicity of such tests to show the world that North Korea is not in any way lesser than the likes of highly developed and sophisticated countries like the USA, China etc. It is true that it requires a lot of knowledge and skill to carry out nuclear test successfully and a successfull nuclear test clearly potrays the nation's intellectual capability. However, on the other hand, if we look at the leaked videos and photographs of the lives of the common people of North Korea, one would be appalled to digest the plight of the people. We can find videos of malnutirtioned infants lying beside their wretched parants or wizened old men and women helplessly finding their way out of poverty by doing menial labour. This example reinstates my position that a country's greatness can only be measured by considereing the livelihood of its people and not just the achievements of its rulers, artists or rulers.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot overlook scenarios where the achievements of a nation's rulers, arists and scientists can actually help in determining its greatness. This is especially true in case of the developed countries like the USA, Canada, the UK etc. The lives of the common people in these countries is much better than the ones in developing countries and the achievements of the noble class can help evaluate nations greatness among themselves.

Therefore, as stated, it is the lives of the common people that determine the greatness of a nation and not just the achievements of its rulers, artists and scientists as they comprise a very small portion of the population and hence, they are not a representatoin of the entire nation.