The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument presented analyzes the problem of declining customer numbers at a mall. The writer analyzes trends in number of customers, number of skateboarders, the crime statistics at the mall and attempts to define a relationship and make a suggestion based on that. The argument, while presumably noble in its intentions, and correct in its approach to the problem, does a poor job of executing that approach. The claim is unsubstantiated because of the lack of statistics within or before the last two years, the unfounded causal relationships being insinuated, and the baseless assumption built upon those "claimed" causal relationships.

The argument starts off on a weak premise because its statements of the "steady decrease" in shoppers at Central plaza, the "dramatic increase" in skateboarders, litter and vandalism are not quantified. Thus it is impossible to determine what the statistics actually are, and how these statistics were before. Since the trends are of within the last two years, we do not know what the state of business was before these last two years, how prevalent was skateboarding before, and whether the litter and vandalism problem has existed before or not. It may be the case that litter and vandalism was always a problem in the mall, possibly due to its lack of security measures? It is also possible that the business volume has always been on the lowside, maybe due to the mall's distance from neighbourhoods. To be certain of any of these trends, we would require ample statistical and quantified data about the number of shoppers before the last two years, and how the trend has changed. Statistics regarding the vandalism and litter would also be valuable since they would help analyze the growth of the problem. Same goes for data regarding the rise of skateboarders.

Besides the statistical weakness, the argument seems to insinuate two unsubstantiated cause-effect relationships. Firstly, it is stated that the rise of skateboarding has happened simultaneous to a rise in vandalism and litter. This, however, could clearly be, just a coincidence. There is nothing to suggest that it is the skateboarders who are destroying property and littering the place. There is nothing to even suggest, that there is any similarity in the rates of both the increases. Are these increases directly proportional, or connected by some other parameter? We simply don't know. It would be wrong to assume any cause-effect relationship.

The second cause-effect relationship being hinted is that it is the vandalism and litter that is driving away customers. While it is true that litter and the threat of crime does hurt business prospects since people tend to avoid risky places; There is nothing at all to suggest that the crime is the sole driving factor that is driving customers away. It may be the case that the lower quality of products at the mall is alienating customers. It is also possible that the higher prices of products in the mall are putting customers out of its range. To substantiate or rule out any of the above relationships, it is important to have data regarding the statistics of vandalism and littering, and those of decline of customer numbers, to determine any relationship between these. It is also important to consider other factors such as prices and quality of products, the mall's geographical location and any other unnoticed or uncontrolled factors which may cause any bias in the results. A good study includes data across all factors involved.

Lastly, the claim that banning skateboarding will bring the number of customers back to their original level is also unsupported. Since no causal relationships have been established between rising skateboarders, rising vandalism and litter, and declining customer numbers, and no data is given to show how these statistics were before the last two years, and nothing is quantified at all, this means that the suggestion of banning skateboarding to reboost customer levels is simply a mere idea with no basis.

As discussed, the argument attempts to analyze a problem and make a solution recommendation; however, the desired effect is not achieved because the lack of quantified period statistics, the unproven causal relationships being alluded to, and the assumed solution resting upon those unproven relationships make the premise of the argument very weak. In order to strengthen the argument, it is important to have lots of data across the timeline, regarding crime, customer presence, number of skateboarders, and other controlling factors in this situation such as the mall's geographical location, its product pricing and perceived product quality. Only then, can we substantiate or dispose of any claims made in this argument. Any logical argument, composed of a problem-solution pair, must rest its finding upon fact and substantiated causal relationships; and this is where this argument falls short.