The owner argues that the decrease in the number of shoppers in central plaza is a result of the increasing of skateboarding popularity, but his argument is filled with wholes.

First, the writer is lacking the prove of the real relation between the increase of skateboarding and the increase of shoppers in the central plaza. For example, he did not state that before the skateboarding there was an increase of the shoppers, this would be a prove of correlation between the two incidents. Also, the writer would have proved his point if he surveyed the shoppers' opinions of the effects of skateboarding on their shopping experience in Central Plaza.

Moreover, the owner neglected other factors which may affect the decrease of the shoppers in Central Plaza. Online shopping, for example, played a vital role in persuading many people to shop from home. Traffic jam, parking issues, and many other factors may hamper the shoppers' numbers. Instead of building his assumption on many owners' statement, he could give a percentage of owners who believe that the skateboarding has a deterioration effect on the number of shoppers in the plaza. In contrary, maybe some store owners and shoppers find skateboarding as an attraction for more people to visit the plaza and shop there.

While the writer state that there is a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza, he did not submit any evidence to verify his assumption that skateboarding elicited these activities. Even more, he did not state the rate of the increase of vandalism and litter and since when it started. It might be increasing even before skateboarding, or other factors could promote this increase.

In conclusion, skateboarding may or may not had an effect on the shoppers' numbers. more investigation should be done to understand the association between the two activities.