The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes that skateboarding should be prohibited in the Central Plaza, because it is responsible for the decrease in the business. The author's line of reasoning is that there has been an increase in vandalism and amount of litter throughout the plaza. This argument is not convincing for various reasons as it is rife with holes and assumptions.

First of all, prohibition of skateboarding is based upon the questionable assumption that skateboarders are responsible for increased litter and vandalism. It is entirely possible that vandalism and litter may be due to increase in the number of window shoppers as this could also be the possibility of decreased business. Hence, the author's generalization is unreliable.

Second, the author assumes that increased skateboarding has led to a decrease in the business. This assumption is unwarranted. It seems equally reasonable to assume that instead, skateboarding could be used as a free publicity stunt for promoting the business of Central Plaza. Hence, it would be presumptuous to conclude that increased skateboarding and decrease in business are correlated.

Third, the decrease in the business, which the author assumes is due to skateboarding, could also be that the stock in Central Plaza is not trendy or there could also be a possibility that the prices and taxes on the products they sell are exorbitant. Hence, it cannot be used to effectively back the author's argument.

Finally, the author uses a causal flaw in the argument. This flaw provides confusing correlation of the two events with a causal relation between the two. It assumes that increased skateboarding is responsible for decrease in business, which would require further evidence.

In sum, the argument is not a strong argument. The author must provide support for the assumption that skateboarding and business are correlated. As far as the litter and vandalism are concerned, it could be caused by the window shoppers. Only with more convincing evidence could this argument become more than just a causal relation.