The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the editor from the Central Plaza store owner, recommends the city corporation to prohibit the skateboarding at the Central Plaza so that the business at the Central Plaza returns to high levels which used to be during previous years. The store owner has come to this conclusion because of the issues faced by the store owners due to increase in popularity of skateboarding at Central Plaza. However, before this recommendation is evaluated three questions must be answered.

Firstly, Is Central Plaza facing competition from the nearby Shopping malls? Many shopping malls may have been built around the Central Plaza during last two years. It is also possible that these new shopping malls may have been attracting the customers away from the Central Plaza by selling goods at much cheaper prices. Further, there is a possibility that the goods sold at the Central Plaza is of no match with the quality of goods sold in the new shopping malls. If either of these scenarios is true then the original conclusion drawn is significantly weakened.

Secondly, Is the Central Plaza well maintained by the store owners? It is possible that the area of Central Plaza were the store are located is in bad state. Building maintenance has not been carried out over a long period which may have resulted in large cracks to be formed in the building. Most of the customers may have been avoiding their visit to central plaza’s stores as they are afraid that the building may fall apart due to the cracks formed in the building. If the above is true then conclusion drawn by the author may fall apart.

Finally, will the ban on skating activities in the central plaza attract more customers than the current setup? There is a possibility that the skaters who visit the Central Plaza for skating are also the customers at the stores in the Central Plaza. Perhaps the people who come to the plaza to spectate skating may visit the stores in the plaza. By imposing a ban on skating at the plaza may cause the business to shrink further in the Central Plaza as the number of people visiting the plaza may further reduce thus weakening the author’s conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument , as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on the unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above questions and offer more evidence then to evaluate the viability of the recommendation of stopping the skating activities in the Central Plaza.