The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument from a central plaza owner regarding skateboarding stands on flawed assumptions. The statement says the number of shoppers in central plaza has been steadily decreasing does not give the reason of why it was failing and mentions that popularity of the skateboards is increasing.

The author fails to mention any relation connecting the popularity of skateboards and decline of shoppers. It also says that is happening over two years and author fails to mention whether any external factor is affecting the sales or not. It may happen that during those two years, economic may have occurred in the country, causing people to spend less money on personal items. So, this does not show any relation between the shoppers and the skateboard popularity.

The argument says that many of the shop owner are blaming on skateboard popularity. First, it does not mention about “all the shop owner in the plaza”. So, mentioning “most of the shop owner” is vague as it specifies any population characteristics. For example, it may happen that the people asked for given issue do not like skateboard in general, giving an answer which is far away from the reality. It may also happen that people who left out liked skateboarding in the plaza, giving them some kind of entertainment in their work time. So, basing that skateboarding is the reason of low sale is not true. Author should consider the views of all the shopkeepers to support the argument.

The argument mentions there have been dramatic increase in litter and vandalism in plaza. This argument is made on the assumption that skateboarding is the reason of litter and argument. But author fails to mention any proper proof regarding the vandalism caused by skateboarding that will bolster the assumption. It may happen that during the time, riot or protest may have taken place in the plaza causing such damage. Author should provide the proper instances and situations showing skateboarding as the reason the litter and vandalism to support the given argument.

As thought the argument author fails to mention any direct effect of skateboarding so saying the prohibiting such act will resume the shopping is vague. The reduction in number of shoppers may be due to lower quality of good they are selling causing shopper to find any other alternative.

The above reasons show the assumption the passage does hold true for all case and fails to support the argument. So, prohibiting all the skateboarding will increase the sales is not true.