The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner."Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central

this argument makes the case that the number of shoppers in central plaza has been declining due to the increase in the number of skateboarders. it also further states that the skateboarders are responsible for the increase in the amount of litter and vandalism through the plaza. Though the argument is compelling at face value, its conclusion is ultimately flawed for two major reasons.

Firstly, the store owners have not mentioned any reasons between skateboarders and the increased litter and vandalism around the plaza. it is possible that the littering and vandalism has increased due to other factors such as the increasing crime throughout the city, lack of proper management, and so on. so it is necessary to consider other factors before coming to the above mentioned conclusion.

Secondly, skateboarders cannot be the only reason for decrease in the number of shoppers in central plaza. shoppers would not stop shopping just because there are skateboarders around the plaza. there has to be a greater reason involved for the decline in the number of shoppers. it is possible that there is a better plaza in the city with better deals, or that the shops at central plaza are simply not embracing the ongoing trends of the fashion industry. so without comparing other reasons, the argument would be seriously flawed.

While on the surface this argument may make some logical sense, it lacks a great deal of information that is important to identify if the argument is valid. The above mentioned various other factors need to be analyzed to gain a greater understanding of the facts, and thus make a better decision whether or not the increase in skateboarders is the reason behind the decline in shoppers at central plaza.