The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author's argument that prohibition of skateboarding would help restore business in Central Plaza is flawed. In the argument, the author fails to establish a concrete onnection between skateboarding and drop in business and draws a conclusion without any statistical evidence. In addition, the author makes the mistake of holding the skateboard users responsible for spoiling the atmosphere of Central Plaza without any proof.

Firstly, the conclusion is based on a vague relationship between skateboarding and decline in business. In doing so, the author fails to explain clearly how skateboarding has been unfavourable to business in Central Plaza. If skateboarding has been drawing more people to Central Plaza, it should have been beneficial for business as more people get to know about the place. Instead, business has been decreasing and the author does not provide any numbers to show the rate of decrease.

Secondly, the conclusion is based on what Central Plaza store owners believe, without any substantial proof. The author neither provides information regarding the number of store owners who have the opinion that skateboarding has adversely affected their business nor provides data which helped them come to that conclusion. The argument could be strengthened if the author provided evidence to support the store owners' opinion, like sales statistics for the past years.

Thirdly, the conclusion is based on the increase of unacceptable acts throughout the plaza. In doing so, the author fails to mention the people behind such actions. The underlying assumption is that skateboard users are responsible for littering and vandalizing the plaza, when this assumption is unwarranted. Skateboard users may not be culpable as they may have been behaving with propriety. Some other people may have been responsible for such bad behaviour and the store owners may have failed to identify the reasons. Also, the author does not provide any information regarding the Central Plaza management's attempts to curb or prevent such behaviour and if the measures taken were successful or not. The author has to provide substantial proof to show that skateboard users have been responsible for tarnishing the ambience of Central Plaza.

Fourthly, the author draws a conclusion that if skateboarding is prohibited, business in Central Plaza would be restored, without giving any solid proof. Business in Central Plaza may have decreased because of other factors like degradation of their products' quality, increased products' prices or new, attractive shopping centers nearby. If this is the case, prohibition of skateboarding wouldn't be of much help. The management of Central Plaza would have to take necessary steps and come up with creative ways to attract customers and increase their business.

In conclusion, the argument could be strengthened if the author provided statistics and solid proof to establish a strong correlation between skateboarding and decline in business, how and to what extent its prohibition can restore the business. As it stands, however, the argument is flawed for the reasons indicated.