The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It is believed that if consumers refuse to buy materials made with CCC’s copper, disasters like pollution would be prevented and this would also make the company drop their mining plans. However, for this recommendation to be valid – there are several unstated assumptions like what are the proofs that the coal mining would eventually cause environmental pollutions and also what is the probability that if the customers stop buying the company’s product, it’d make them stop the mining plans, need to be examined.

Firstly, it is stated that mining coal in the area would inevitably lead to pollution and environmental disaster. But, if the company could acquire 10,000 square miles of land in west Fredonia, the government would obviously have knowledge about it and I am pretty sure the government has the best interest of their citizens and endangered animals alike in heart; this would not be possible if there was an high chance of it affecting them (citizens and animals). For example, Nigeria recently discovered a new mineral in northern side of the country and the mineral is called lithium. This mineral is what is used in making batteries and electric cars like Tesla; having this in mind, a huge number of potential investors were really interested in mining this because of its huge market potential in terms of sale. The government knowing fully well that mining this mineral would lead to environmental pollution and would also be dangerous to its citizens declined all offers , even though the money generated from the potential companies would benefit the nation, it would be a dangerous act to allow them come in to mine. The Government have the best interests for its citizens and I am sure they would not have sold the land to the Crust Copper Company if there was a huge chance of it causing pollution and environmental disasters.

Furthermore , another unstated assumption that needs to be examined is the probablility of the company stopping the mining process if consumers stop purchasing their products. This brings about questions like- What if this company’s copper is the best that there is in town? And does this really stop the company from leaving the city. I am pretty sure they have been making sales way before coming to the city of West Fredonia and this doesn’t stop them from mining. Also, if this company’s copper is the best in town, the consumers are not going to stop buying products from them all because of the coal mining, the consumers may have assumed that the Government had put safety measures and regulations in place to protect them from the effects of the mining.

In conclusion, until the assumptions stated above have been validated, the recommendation that if consumers refuse to buy materials made with CCC’s copper, disasters like pollution would be prevented and this would also make the company drop their mining plans, would remain invalid.