The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it is necessary to reduce money spent on garbage disposal in Masontown, an advertising campaign asking the citizens to recycle may not be a solution according to the argument put up by the author. The argument may well have merit but it fails to justify its assumptions and prove his argument. There are several reasons due to which his argument may be called rife with holes and assumptions.

Citing the example of Hayesworth, the author tries to prove his point but fails to do so in some aspect. The residents of Hayesworth were supposed to recycle paper and glass as stated by the law but their is no evidence that they actually followed the law. Therefore, the assumption of the author that the garbage disposal costs of Hayesworth reduced due to this law is wrong. Furthermore, the recycling at home may not be the only reason for the reduction in disposal costs. The possibility of the residents producing less waste could also lead to reduction in disposal costs. Thus, the author cannot rely on this example and presume that their will a reduction in disposal costs.

Additionally, the author assumes that the residents can be persuaded to recycle at home through an advertising campaign. In hayesworth, a severe action was taken by passing a law which would make the residents to follow it to a certain extent. On the other side, masontown citizens are believed to be agreeing to do the same on account of advertising. it must not be assumed to be a valid and reliable method to do so.

Building upon the implications that the cost of disposal would reduce by asking the residents to recycle at home the author does not justify his assumption here that the residents would be comfortable to do the same. The residents might not have sufficient time and also may not have sufficient method to perform recycling at home. The citation of the author that recycling of waste at home is going to reduce costs of disposal is illogical until the residents agree to do the same. also, the author must justify his point that a large number of people would be influenced by the campaign. if a mere few are influenced and agree to do the same, it will not create a lot of difference on the costs and the advertising will not be fruitful. so, the author must clarify his ideas and do more research otherwise his idea would likely convince few people.

In conclusion, the author's illogical argument is based on unsupported premises and unsubstantiated assumptions that render his conclusion invalid. if the author provides evidence and justifies his assumptions regarding the benefit of recycling at home and also form valid connections between the two towns, he can prove his point.