The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the local newspaper letter, the author states that the addition of a bicycle lane would encourage more residents to use bikes rather than to drive cars for their commute. The author supports this claim by pointing out that the residents of the area have a keen interest in riding bicycles. While this conclusion may seem like a strong stance, it is not adequately supported as it would require some more evidence to bolster the argument.

First, we would need evidence of the commute routes and distances that the residents would be taking. If we had valid evidence that the commute distances taken by a reasonable percentage of the residents were optimal for riding a bicycle, then the addition of a bicycle lane would help to alleviate the problem of traffic flow during rush hour. However, if the distances of the commute destinations were to be more than an ideal bicycle trip, less people would resort to riding bicycles and would opt for an automobile commute. In this case, the addition of a bicycle lane might not be an optimal solution and thus, the conclusion of the author would not hold.

Second, to support the claim that the keen interest of the residents towards bicycling would actually lead to a better traffic flow, we would again require some more evidence. If it were proven that the residents who have an interest in bicycle riding also have the same interest in using it as a form of transportation to reach their destinations, then the addition of a bicycle lane may potentially lead to reduced traffic during rush-hour. On the other hand, if the keen bicycle riders are generally interested in the activity as a form of entertainment or exercise, then when it comes to commute, they may opt for the more physically convenient option of driving to their destinations. If the residents indeed are solely interested in bicycles for the sake of entertainment or exercise, then the authors claim of a bicycle lane addition being a solution for the traffic problems would again not be supported.

Lastly, to use the Green Highway example as a formidable example to negate the benefit on an additional car lane, we would need additional evidence to prove that the Green Highway is similar to the Blue Highway, in terms of traffic. If it is proven that the flow of the traffic and the resident population of the area of the Green Highway prior to the added lane was similar to the current state of the Blue Highway, then it could be a valid argument to use in order to claim that the Blue Highway would experience the same impact with an added car lane. However, if the similarities between the Green Highway and the Blue Highway are not quite enough to conclude that the Blue Highway would experience a similar result, then it might not be a viable example. Given that we don’t have proper evidence to compare the two highways, it is not a valid argument to support the claim.

In conclusion, based upon the letter, the author believes that the addition of a bicycle lane would be the optimal solution to resolve the rush-hour phenomenon. However, based on the given evidence, we can’t simply assume that the commute distance is optimal for bicycle riding, that residents would enjoy bicycle riding as their form of commute, and that the Green Highway example is a formidable comparison to the Blue Highway. As a result, we are unable to formally conclude that the addition of a bicycle lane would be the optimal solution to the traffic enigma unless we are able to support these assumptions.