The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter it is mention that, in the region of Trilluria, Parson City is spending more money on education then Blue city. So conclusion is drawn that Parson City is providing good education then Blue city. However, before evaluating this conclusion some question must be answer and some assumption must be taken into the consideration.

To begin with, how many numbers of residents are taking the education in Parson City as compare to Blue City? Even though number of resident in Parson City and Blue City are same but their maybe possibility that number of youngster going to school and collages are more in Parson City than Blue City. If this is true then it is blatant that more money is required for Parson City than Blue City. But it is not plausible that Parson City is providing good education than Blue City.

Secondly, what is the condition of school and collages in Parson City as compare to Blue city? OR what quality of education is provided to Parson City compare to Blue City? Maybe Blue City School and collages foster Parson City to grow. Maybe Parson City is repairing their school and collage so it can entice more students. There is also the possibility that Parson City is hiring some good experience teachers. In this case it is blatant that Parson City will required more money as compare to Blue City because, maybe Blue City already have all this with some better facilities. If this happens to be true then conclusion drawn from the letter does not hold water.

Finally, how many numbers of school and collages are there in Parson City as compare to Blue City? If there is more number of school and collages in Parson City than It seems to be plausible that more capital is required to bolster the schools of Parson City. In these cases it is blatant that Parson City will require more money than Blue city. Considering this scenario it is not apt to draw conclusion that Parson City is providing better education than Blue City.

In conclusion, hence assumption made in the latter, are dubious and erroneous. If all above question are answer and evidence are provided then it will strengthen the argument.