The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do." Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a letter to the editor, the writer states that the quality of education is higher in Parson City than in the Public schools of Blue City. The argument is based on the fact that the amount spent on public education is greater in Parson City than in Blue city. However, the claim made cannot be verified based on the evidence provided in the argument and the following evidence are necessary to determine the viability of the claim.

To begin with, the writer did not mention the geographical and social environment of both cities. The social structure needs to be considered to analyze the situation presented above. For instance, the social rituals and the behavior of the family towards education can play a vital role in determining education quality. There might be some social groups that don’t give much priority to education in one city; while, in another city, people focused on education. If any of the above holds, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Similarly, the quality of education in Parson City is claimed to have better than the Blue city but based on what factors? Does the greater investment solely govern the quality of education? Of course not! For instance, the average grade of the students of Parson City may be greater or the passed-out students of the city are successful. More information is required so that we can be confirmed the educational quality of public schools in both cities.

In addition, the argument doesn’t mention the teachers’ quality. The teachers’ qualifications might be higher in one city while lower in another. Also, the quality of the student doesn’t depend on teachers alone but also on the students. What about the student's ability to gain information? Likewise, regarding all student of the same mental capacity is futile. If any of these have merit, then the argument as a whole doesn’t hold water.

In sum, the writer’s claim regarding the education quality of cities is unwarranted and the evidence provided is insufficient. Therefore, the aforementioned evidence needs to be provided in the form of systematic research to analyze the practicability of the argument.