The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that the university should offer free tuition for the college-aged children of their professors at the university. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, reveals several instances of poor reasoning and distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts. The author supports the argument by providing a study conducted at the nearby Oceania University that showed higher faculty retention where this policy was implied. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the authors conclusion. Hence, the argument is incomplete or unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the assumption made that the study conducted at the nearby Oceania University also applies to the Seatown University might not be true. It is possible that what might be the reason for the professors to stay at Oceania University might not work for the professors at the Seatown University. It is possible that many professors in the university would not have children or would have children still too young to go to college. It is also possible that the college-aged children of the professor might have some different aspiration for their carrier and would not choose for these free tuition. Hence one might require more data and statistics about the ages of the children or the aspirations that the children have for them.

Secondly, it is quite possible that the teachers that the institute hires for teaching these college-aged students might be terrible at their jobs and hence would compel the professors to remove their children from these classes. One should also throw light on the economical aspect of providing these free tuition and what effect it would have on the financial condition of the university. The argument should provide data on whether the cost of providing free tuition matches with the cost of retaining a professor.

The argument does not provide any information about why the university is finding it hard to retain their professors. It is possible that the professors might want some other facilities changed at the university which would lure them to stay.

In conclusion, there are several aspects in the argument that have not been analysed. The argument should provide more studies from various sources in order to make it more reliable.