The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

The argument given is based on some unstated/unwarranted assumptions, and there are few logical fallacies in the argument.

The study conducted at nearby Oceania University revealed that the faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their children. But, the argument didn't establish whether the free tuition fee for professor's children is the only factor which determines the faculty retention. Oceania University might have a conducive atmosphere for research and research funds are high so that professors who work on long-term research projects have a high chance of staying in the same university. It would be better to evaluate all the factors collectively to justify the faculty retention at Oceania University.

The argument makes a blunt assumption that instituting free-tuition policy at Seatown would increase faculty retention. The argument needs to consider a few factors, before introducing free-tuition for professor's children. Whether the University has enough funds to take the burden. If Seatown university is a private university, it should compensate such additional costs by increasing the tuition fee of other students, unlike public universities, private universities have less financial aid from the state, which in turn may reduce the number of students applying for the university.

In addition to all these, the argument says, the new policy will enhance morale among the faculty and lure new professors. Free tuition for professor's children is one among other benefits that the universities provide. Professors ought to opt for colleges which have good research funding, have a high reputation in the state. The argument cannot conclude that introducing the new policy would enhance morale among faculty.

Thus the argument is flawed because of the above mentioned unstated assumptions. So, the argument should consider the other factors too before instituting the policy.