The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend:

“Of the two leading real estate firms in our town – Adams Realty and Fitch Realty – Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams’ revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home salesthat averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch’s $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

At a glance the argument seems fair and many might take it at face value and believe that Adams Realty is a better option if you want to sell your house at a faster rate and at a higher cost. There are many facets to the argument, other than the fact most of Fitch Realty’s employees work part-time, that could help explain this argument. Sadly the argument forms its basis on solely this one factor, which could paint a different picture than what is the reality.

One assumption that we could make is about the locality in which the homes are listed by the two firms. There is a possibility that the homes listed by Adams Realty are much more probable to be in an affluent neighbourhood than those listed by Fitch Realty. This assumption would help explain the disparity in revenue generated and the difference in average sales price of the homes. This could be because low and middle income households may not tend to commit to high spending decisions as easily as richer households. This could be due to the fact that if the decision goes wrong in some manner, it affects the former to a much greater extent than the latter. It could lead the family into a downward spiral financially, from which it is very hard to recover from. This assumption can very satisfactorily explain why Fitch Realty on an average takes a longer time to sell homes at a lower price.

Another theory that supports this assumption is that the author of the argument is comparing between two time periods that are ten years apart. In this time, there is a very distinct possibility that the author might have risen in financial stature due to a combination of hard work, dedication and many other factors which can’t be pinpointed. This rise in financial stature might have led him/her to buy a house in a wealthier neighbourhood. This could lead to them listing their house with Adams Realty the second time around as their newer neighbours may have recommended. To declare that Adams Realty is a better firm that Fitch Realty without exploring all the different reasons for the difference is not justifiable. The two firms occupy two different niches in the town, and both firms would be necessary to service all the different sections of the town.

If the assumption proves unwarranted, and Adams Realty sells homes at a higher rate in and around the same neighbourhoods as Fitch realty, then the argument could be true. The employees of Admas Realty may just work that much more harder than those at Fitch. This in turn attracts newer more ambitious and more enthusiastic realtors to Adams Realty which further increases the disparity between the two firms, firmly establishing Adams Realty as the better firm for selling homes in the town.