The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this topic, the author described two real estate firms and tried to prove one firm (Adams Realty) taller than other (Fitch Realty). To make one company superior, the author had provided certain examples based on their revenues and number of agents. But there are certain assumptions which can undermine the author’s argument.

Author has mentioned Adams has 40 agents, so the efficiency of the company must be higher. But it may not be true in all the cases. It may happen that employees of Adams live in a state of torpor, whereas agents of Fitch are more workaholic. A greater number of agents always can’t provide a quality service. A quality service depends on skilled agents and quality is always important over quantity. It may happen that Fitch doesn’t take many projects and provides a good service to their limited number of clients and at last a great service matters most. If anyone gets a good service from a company or a firm, he will always prefer that firm only for any of his next requirement. He will not go to see their revenue or number of staffs as he has a soft corner for that firm.

Now, the author described their home sales or revenues. The author provided their total revenue. But he didn’t make any focus on the revenue per agent or the revenue generated by a firm per project. It may happen that Fitch has the experience to sell a home at a higher price. But their revenue is less as their number of agents are less. Wherein, Adams has somehow just sold more number of properties with average price and showing a large figure. So, the total revenue always can’t be an indicator of success.

At last, the author gave example about selling his two houses with two different firms. But he sold his first house almost ten years ago and sold his next house just a year ago. This two situations can’t be compared effectively as we all know the value of fixed assets such as land, apartment, and home generally increases as time advances. Economic conditions of people or market value were also may be different such a long time ago. It may also happen, the previous home had certain disadvantages such as it may not be located in a prime location where modern facilities were available. The demand for home or the population also may be increased now. That’s why next home was sold just in a month whereas the previous home took four months.

We cannot infer which firm is better from these mere facts as the author did. We need a deep analysis of several data or an analysis of customer satisfaction survey Programme to truly determine which firm is more superior.