The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author used his personal experience and some vague financial data of the Adams Realty and Fitch Realty, to conclude which is the better agency for selling the house quickly. It is very likely that the author argument is biased from his own personal experience and is not backed by the data. It is probable that Adam realty is better than Fitch Realty, but the data presented by the author lack insights and make some dubious assumptions to conclude anything. This claim can easily be challenged and given the validity of data; it is not sufficient to give any recommendation.

First, there is no correlation between the number of real estate agent that firm employs and its superiority in the market. Yes, it is fact that Adams has 40 real estate agent and fitch has 25. It is possible that fitch use other means to market the listing house. That fitch realty spent more on other means of marketing like social media, local cable or maintain their own website. So, they need few agents than Adams, if Adams is not marketing his listing in non-traditional platform. This is the better approach as you can target a particular audience as well as it will be faster to spread the information to customers. It will be helpful to see the overall budget they have on different types of marketing environment and the overall strength of the firm.

Author uses their last year financials record to conclude that Adam is better than Fitch because dam revenue is more than twice last year and average home value sale is relatively higher by $22,000. These statement validities can be challenged by two major assumptions that author did not mention in the letter. First one is that one-year revenue fluctuates and doesn't represent the company financials situations. The author should have used like last 3-5-year average to remove or reduce any one-time unusual activity that can impact the financials of the company. 5-year average will shows the stable and average revenuer that we expect from the firm. It was state that average value of home sales by Adam is 168,000 which is more than Fitch 144,000. These two numbers are not comparable, it is like comparing apples to oranges. We should find answer the question that the characteristics of the home sales by these firms are same which will back the author claim. It can be the case that Adams generally take high worth house compared to fitch which will make these two number of no use and will undermine the author claims.

Lastly, Author used his own personal experience to strengthen his claim. Author compare his past experience which is 10 year ago with fitch to his last year experience with Adams. This claim is very thin and can easily be challenged. Firstly, we are not aware of the country or town financial situation ten year ago or one year ago. Market conditions have serious impact on both the price of the house and the time it takes to sell it. We do not know that if ten years ago the market was in recession or the last year town’s financials condition was at peak. Secondly the locality and the condition of house has big impact on its time to take sell. We are not aware of both of the house conditions; it is possible that last year sold house, is newly constructed property. Both of the reason makes the author’s personal experience vague and less reliable to conclude anything.

The author tried to used his own personal experience and recent company financials records to present his claim. As discsussed above, claim lack serius insights and cover any of his argument superficialy. The argument use his own experience to judge the firms superiorty, it should be average of different customers feedback over some certain period. Given numbeous flaws in authors argument, it is evident that validity of the case is very thin.