The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview."When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the symphony became self-sustaining

The memo here presented by a budget planner officer of the Grandview city states that the city should not give fund to the Grandview Symphony onwards. This argument fails to maintain several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To satisfy this conclusion, the budget planners' reason is that the reputed symphony of the city already got enough private investor and tremendous public as an audience. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little justification for the conclusion. Hence, the argument is considered incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the city officials agreed with the symphony to underwrite them till they become self-sustaining. This is merely and the assumption made without solid ground. The argument does not explain, what are the prerequisites of the symphony to call as self-sustaining. There can be a possibility that this musical organization was a purely non-profit organization. It may be a source of pleasure of the city resident who works hard to pay tax to the city government and who think that it is right to get free entertainment at least from the symphony as returns of their plentiful tax payment. There is also a possibility that the symphony is considered as a governmental body of the city as other nearby cities which are purely funded to serve people free of cost.

Second, the arguer argues that two years ago, the symphony hired one repudiate conductor, who became a success to attract many private investors and many devoted audiences, which are enough to sustain the symphony independently. This again is a weak analogy used by the argument and it does not demonstrate the clear correlation between the member of the participants/stakeholders and self-sustain of the musical organization. The city official fails to explain, what if all the participant just came to entertain the government funded musical programme. It also fails to explain that the private party and the devoted audience contributions are enough to sustain the symphony longer or not.

Moreover, a memo states that tripled number of contributors and a large number of audience, which earned after a decade of the establishment of the Grandview symphony, are the foundation evidence to take out financial responsibility. However, micro-investigation of supported clues depict that it provides little support for the authors' statement in various critical aspects and raises some skeptical questions. For example, what was the initial funding amount? The ratio of funding and self-contributing amount by an organization is decreasing or increasing in past years? what are public verdict towards the symphony; a charitable governmental body or a profitable private organization? Without the convincing answer to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the budget planner officers' claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than the substantive evidence.

In sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear and more concrete information about the financial history of the Grandview Symphony as well as public verdict about the privatization of the symphony.