The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Laboratory studies revealed that using UltraClean could reduce the bactera population by a whooping 40%. And subsequent tests also revealed that, upon the use of UltraClean there were a fewer reported cases of patient infection. Due to the combined positive results of these tests and studies, the Director suggested using UltraClean in all their hand-washing stations through out the hospital system. Although, this argument appears to be apt and adequate, there are some serious unwarranted flaws which could prove devastating.

Upon scrutinizing the argument, it can be seen that the laboratory studies account for reduction of only 40% of the bacterial population. There may be many other liquid hand wash companies out there in the market, who are producing hand wash or sanitiziers that are proved to remove more than 40% of the bacteria present. It is subtly assumed that, there are no other hand wash which is better than the specified group of hospitals. This assumption if proved correct could be fatal to all the people that are using the hand wash.

Furthermore, the argument does not specify how healthy the individuals are, at the time of conducting the test. It could be that most of the percentage of people chosen for the test were already fit and in good health. It might be that they were having a healthy diet in their daily life. And they are already immune to most of the infections. So, the argument assumes that all the people chosen for the test were normal people, suffering from few infections.

If this assumption was to prove unwarranted and UltraClean hand wash was supplied to all the people working in the hospital, it could be dangerous.

Moreover, only few cases were reported, out of all the patients tested, some of them could have used other medicines to counteract the side effects and these were not detected by the testing individuals. Additionally, statistics for the number of people tested have not been submitted. It could be that only a meagre 50 people were tested and only a 10 of them were infected and the other 40 were not infected, this does not mean that UltraWash could be supplied to the hospital system and still only a few people would be infected. It is presumed that, because a few samples of the people from the hospital reported fewer infections doesn't necessarily mean that when UltraWash is used by many people in the hospital, still only a few would be infected.

To conclude, the above unwarranted arguments could prove to be an erroneous mistake.