The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the

While it might sound logical, at first glance, to agree with the author's conclusion that supplying UltraClean at all the hand-washing stations in the hospital will preclude serious patient infections, the author's argument does not make a cogent case. His reasoning to arrive at the conclusion based on the premise that a solution of UltraClean is able to kill more bacteria than the currently used hand soaps and that a hospital reported fewer cases of fewer patient infections while testing with Ultra clean, may have sounded rational and probable, but there were latent factors that the author should have considered.

Firstly, the author cited a laboratory test where a concentrated solution of UltraClean was able to reduce 40% more bacteria than did the liquid hand soap currently being used in the hospital. The author assumed that the UltraClean is comparatively more effective as it killed more bacteria. But, it is possible that UltraClean is only more effective as a concentrated solution and it might not effectively kill bacteria when it is diluted to usable proportions. Also, the extra percent of bacteria reduction might have been due to killing of harmless bacteria and so, the UltraClean is of no extra benifit to prevent patient infections. If the above situations has merit, the author's argument is significantly weakned.

Furthermore, the author used an example of Workby, where they reported significantly fewer number of patient infections than other hospitals in the group. The author failed to address the extra factors that might have caused the decline in infections. Along test of UltraClean, the hospital might have tested with other approaches to prevent patient ilnesses, making it possible to account other factors that "actually" made a impact in decreasing the infections. Also, it is possible that, WorkBy might have seen less infections compared to other hospitals due to the location factor. That is, Workby might be located in a small villiage where the number of patients is lower than that of other hospitals and so the number of infections might have been proportional. If this case is true, the author failed to make a good use of the Workby's example to make his argument strong.

Fianally, the author concluded that supplying UltraClean at all hand wash stations will reduce the patient infections. In doing so, the author assumed that supplying the solution will make sure of its correct usage. It is possible that the patients might not use the liquid was preferring the solid soap. Also, it is possible that even if patients use the hand-wash to clean their hands, the infections that spread could be airborne and thus the solution cannot prevent the infections.

In conclusion, unless the author substantiates his argument covering evidence to above assumptions, his argument remains unconvincing.