The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memo, the author recommends supply UltraClean for all stations through their hosptial system and predicts such approach could efficiently prevent serious patient infections. To support his/her claim, the author cites both a controlled laboratory study relevant with UltraClean and a recent test for a regular-strength UltraClean in Worktown. Quite convincing though such recommendation appears, the author's recommendation might be unconvincing due to several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if prove unwarranted, will heavily challenge the author's conclusion.

To start off, the author's recommendation heavily relies on the assumption that the normal version of UltraClean could also surpass hard soap in the performance of bacteria reduction effects. However, this assumption might be potentially problematic because the controlled laboratory study only compare performance between the concentrated version of UltraClean and liquid hand soaps. Nor do we know that how difference exists between concentrated version and normal version of UltraClean for their disinfect effect of bacteria. In addition, none information was given for detailed comparison between the normal UltraClean and the liquid hand soap used currently. If additional information shows that normal UltraClean couldn't match with expectation for either concentrated version or liquid hand soap, this recommendation to simply replace liquid soap with UltraClean regardless of detailed versions will fall into a great doubt and the author's statement will be weakened.

Furthermore, by stating that the trail in Worktown has gained a significant success of suppression of patient infection, the author implies the assumption that such success could easily be applied for and spreaded to other hosipitals in their system. However, without additional information to evaluate whether Worktown could represent the average situation of the remaining hosptals, we have no clues whether such application could actually work as expected. It is likely that the success of infection reduction in Worktown is attributed to the high quality of their employees. And it is of equal probability that in Worktown they only have a very limited patient and a simple improvement of infection avoidance could bring about huge improvement on result. If any of those probabilities prove true, the author's statement about leaveage the Worktown's success of using UltraClean will become untenable and therefore his/her argument might be rendered less advisable.

Last but not least, even if all the aforementioned assumptions prove valid, the author's recommendation might be still unnecessary due to the assumption regarding the efficenicy of UltraClean on serious patient infections. It is unreasonable to assume that UltraClean, which mainly focus on prevention of bacteria, could also work well on the illnesses that are caused by other reasons, such as parasites or fungals. Here, we can clearly see that the author hastily comes to conclustion that UltraClean could suppress all of serious patient infections, but doesn discuss with diversity of illness causes and the probability that how UltraClean could work for infections apart from its eessential usage, bacteria prevention. If UltraClean could only fight with disease caused by baterica or it only has limited effect on other infections, his/her recommendation would lose more weights.

In summary, whether we implement the author's recommendation actually depends on the validity of the aforementioned assumptions. If those assumptions prove unwarranted, the author's suggestion would become little more than his/her wistful thinking and therefore we have to resort to other solutions for the stated purpose.