The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Argument claims that building new dormitories would make students more likely to enroll at Buckingham college.The conclusion of the argument relies on many assumptions such as

new dormitories would attract students is one of them.But there is no strong evidence provided by auhtor which weakens the given argument.

Firstly , author claims that to serve housing needs of students , there is need of new dormitories. But author has not clearly mentioned that what is number of students living in dormitories

and no of dormitories present to accomodate these students. As there are possibilities that there could be enough dormitories or number of students could be less than number of dormitories present in college.

Hence this is vague terminology to assume that buckingham college needs more new dormitories.

Secondly, author readily assumes that as Buckingham's enrollment is growing , dormitory space will be inadequate.This statement is unconvinced as strong rendering is not provided by author.

For example, In argument author hasnt mentioned last years enrollement count.If it is already less than no of dormitories then increasing no of enrollments will not affects on service

provided in existing dormitries as long as they are adequate. Also author has assumed that based on current trends, buckingham's enrollement will be guranteedly double overy next fifty years.

What current trends he observed are not clearly mentioned with any evidence.If author has provided this information then readers would have convinced to this argument.

Furthermore, he states that average rent of apartment in town has risen hence students will find difficult to afford off-campus housing.This is very weak ans unsupported claim.

Here author has assumed many things such as students will only rent apartment in town.They may find place outside of town at affordable price.Also there could be chances that rent

of apartment in town is actually less than dormitories.

In conclusion, author states that new dormitories would attract enrollement at college. But there is no relation between new dormitories and students enrolling at buckingham's college.

This argument would be more strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant factors of new dormitories pushing students to get into buckingham's college.Without this information

, the argument remain unsubstantiated and open to debate.